Bookish Wandering: Just Kids

I’ve decided to try something a little different with today’s update. This post marks the first “bookish wandering,” a new project in which I will be exploring a place that holds remarkable significance in a book. As you may know, the name of this blog was inspired by the complementary merging of a desire to travel and a love for books. I’ve always toyed with the idea of travelling to the location where a book takes place, and so, this series will be a good way for me to take my blog in a direction that more thoroughly integrates that spirit of wanderlust and travel through books.

As my time in New York draws near to an end, I wanted to take advantage of my being in one of the most culturally vibrant and historically rich cities in the world. Therefore, the first bookish wandering will revolve around a highly New York centric memoir, Patti Smith’s Just Kids.


Just Kids

Patti Smith Just Kids 2010 2011 paperback

Goodreads | Buy

Premise: A memoir with a heavy focus on the story and relationship between Patti Smith and Robert Mapplethorpe.

Review: I approached Just Kids  with extremely high expectations, and unfortunately, I was underwhelmed. I could not help but feel distanced due to the storytelling, particularly the middle portion, that often lapsed into a list-like monotony of events.

There was also an excessive amount of name dropping. The events that occurred reinforce the frustrating idea that success, especially in the creative world, mostly stems from lucky coincidences, or of being at the right place at the right time. All in all, you have to have the right connections.

I did enjoy Patti Smith’s recounting of her beautiful friendship with Robert, however. The beginning and ending were the parts that really brought the experiences to life for me and tied the memoir together. Her passion shone most brilliantly in the moments spent talking about Robert and their art.

Reading about the New York arts scene in Just Kids while being here in 2015 was truly an incredible experience. There were several times when I was reading about Patti and Robert taking a particular train or roaming a certain neighbourhood at the same time that I was riding that very train or walking that specific street.

I read this on my Kindle, so unfortunately, I don’t have any bookish photographs to share with you for this book. Instead, I will be sharing snaps of Coney Island, a place that formed the basis of many important memories in the relationship between Patti and Robert.

I always loved the ride to Coney Island.  Just the idea that you could go to the ocean via subway was so magical.

We pulled into our stop.  I leapt to my feet, filled with the anticipation of a child, slipping my book back into the sack.  He took my hand.

coney_dip

Nothing was more wonderful to me than Coney Island with its gritty innocence.  It was our kind of place: the fading arcades, the peeling signs of bygone days, cotton candy and Kewpie dolls on a stick, dressed in feathers and glittering top hats.

coney_dip2

We were just ourselves that day, without a care.  Only weeks before we had been at the bottom, but our blue star, as Robert called it, was rising.

coney_dip3

coney_dip4

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. your photos are so beautiful! great new post, make this a series!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was listening to Because the Night and Smells like Teen Spirit,both by Patti Smith,before hopping on your blog!
    And this is what I see!

    I knew she wrote a book,but ignored she also won the National Book Award! Hmm,that review was interesting; I mean,it’s always good to see what a blogger I know think about a particular book.I don’t have to rely on what goodreads reviewers,whose tastes in books I’m unaware of,think about it!

    Have you read other non-fiction which you liked? I’ve read Quiet(Susan Cain),The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat(Oliver Sacks),and News of a Kidnapping (Garcia Marquez),and they were incredibly insightful and compelling!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh,as for the photographs,I’m simply speechful!! 🙂
      Your blog is so aesthetic.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Speechless*
        Ah,you see!

        Like

      • Thank you!! 🙂 I’m sorry for my tardiness in replying! Somehow, I missed the notifications for your lovely comments. What a cool coincidence–do you listen to Patti Smith a lot? She is coming to my city to perform and read from her new book coming out later this year! As for nonfiction, I’ve read and enjoyed some memoirs here and there, but I can’t say I’ve read as much of the genre as I would like to! I do want to read those you’ve recommended sometime soon…

        Like

Leave a Reply

